• Saint George |
  • Cedar City |
  • Mesquite

  • More
  • More
  • More
  • Philanthropy Day announces 2014 award honorees
    by Chris Bray
    Published - 08/29/14 - 02:15 PM | 0 0 comments | 62 62 recommendations | email to a friend | print
    (SALT LAKE CITY) – Each year, seven prestigious awards honor people who support the nonprofit community. This collaborative recognition event takes place through a partnership with nonprofits, business and government to celebrate people who support and serve Utah’s nonprofit community. The Utah Philanthropy Day Planning Committee, chaired by Mikelle Moore and Debbie Hardy of Intermountain Healthcare, with Honorary Chairs Kem and Carolyn Gardner, are excited to announce the 2014 award honorees to be recognized at this year’s Philanthropy Day luncheon event to be held November 13, 2014 at Little America in Salt Lake City, Utah.

    The 2014 Honorees are:

    Norma Matheson Outstanding Volunteer Award - Natalie Kae Tholen: Nominated by Layton Fire Corp as their School Representative, she has volunteered over 5,000 hours in eight years coordinating and volunteering at many activities including mock disasters and community watch events.

    Governor's Lifetime Achievement Award - Patricia A. Richards: Nominated by Utah Symphony/Utah Opera, she served over 20 years through key transitional times providing exemplary leadership guidance, fundraising and advocacy for this organization and has also served on many nonprofit, higher education, and government board positions.

    Career Humanitarian Award - Palmer DePaulis: Nominated by The Road Home, for over 30 years he has worked tirelessly and selflessly in serving Utah’s most vulnerable populations in positions including Salt Lake City Mayor and Utah Department of Human Services Executive Director.

    Philanthropic Leadership Award - Barbara Barrington Jones: Nominated by Thanksgiving Point, she has served as an ambassador, significant philanthropist and board advisor. Also hosted many events including retreats and camps to inspire and empower individuals.

    Foundation Spirit of Giving Award - The Ben B. & Iris M. Margolis Foundation: Nominated by the University of Utah, for more than 41 years they have generously supported medical research in Utah and been instrumental in many cutting edge programs including tailoring health care solutions to individuals.

    Corporate Spirit of Giving Award – SelectHealth: Nominated by Neighborhood House, this company has a broad outreach giving and awareness campaign that offers ten different community philanthropic support mechanisms. They encourage and support employee volunteerism, serve as resource to the nonprofit community and encourage healthy lifestyle throughout all of their work.

    Outstanding Young Volunteer Award - Evelyn Salazar: Nominated by Boys and Girls Clubs of Salt Lake, has volunteered for 13 years in nearly every program available and developed leadership skills that have set her apart on both a local and national level.

    The giving spirit of the awardees serves as an inspiration to other individuals and organizations to spread the impact of community giving. As part of Utah Philanthropy Day, we are pleased to provide members of Utah Nonprofit Association & Utah Society of Fund Raisers the opportunity of honoring an individual or couple to receive a Heart & Hands Award. This award acknowledges those people who make significant contributions to that member's cause through his or her volunteer or philanthropic service. Each Heart & Hands Award honoree will receive a pin, a certificate, and will be specially recognized during the Utah Philanthropy Day luncheon. Nominations for Heart & Hands Awards open Oct 1, 2014.

    This year Utah Philanthropy Day will present the winners of these awards to an audience of over 700 at the annual luncheon slated for Thursday, November 13, 2014 at Little America in Salt Lake. For information about attending the Philanthropy Day Awards event or nominating Hearts and Hands nominees visit www.utahphilanthropyday.org.

    2014 Steering Committee:

    Mikelle Moore, Intermountain Healthcare, Utah Philanthropy Day Co-Chair

    Debbie Hardy, Intermountain Healthcare, Utah Philanthropy Day Co-Chair

    Debra Hoyt, Questar, Immediate Past Chair

    Matt Minkevitch, The Road Home, Utah Philanthropy Day Chair-Elect

    Chris Bray, Utah Nonprofits Association (UNA), CEO

    Amber Nielsen, Primary Children's Hospital Foundation, Utah Society Fund of Raisers (USFR)

    Board President

    LaDawn Stoddard, UServeUtah, Executive Director

    Diane Parisi, Pioneer Theatre Company, Utah Philanthropy Day Treasurer

    Brad Pedersen, American Express, UNA Board Chair

    Cathleen Sparrow, Community Engagement, USFR

    Jennifer Schreiter, Benjen Associates LLC, Utah Philanthropy Day Administrative Coordinator

    About UNA: The Utah Nonprofits Association (UNA) works to unify, strengthen and elevate Utah’s nonprofit community through networking, professional development, public policy, and providing technical assistance. www.utahnonprofits.org

    About Utah Society of Fund Raisers: Since 1985, Utah Society of Fund Raisers (USFR) has promoted high standards of ethics and professionalism among fund raisers, while providing outstanding continuing education, networking opportunities, and more. For more information: http://usfr.org.

    About UServeUtah, The Lieutenant Governor’s Commission on Service and Volunteerism: UServeUtah is the state’s central coordinating body for service and volunteerism. The Commission is responsible for developing, implementing, and sustaining a vision and culture of civic engagement and national and community service within the state. www.userve.utah.gov.

    Comments-icon Post a Comment
    No Comments Yet
    Submit an Event