• Saint George |
  • Cedar City |
  • Mesquite

  • More
  • More
  • More
  • Utah Farm Bureau Members Elect Farm and Ranch leaders at Annual Convention in Layton
    by kcsg.com news
    Published - 12/11/13 - 03:03 PM | 0 0 comments | 27 27 recommendations | email to a friend | print
    (SANDY, Utah) – Members from Utah’s 28 County Farm Bureaus met recently in Layton to select leaders for the state’s largest farming and ranching organization. Delegates re-elected Tooele County rancher and hay farmer Leland Hogan to his 7th two-year term as president of the Utah Farm Bureau Federation.

    “I feel a great responsibility to this organization and to carry out its wishes in keeping agriculture and Farm Bureau strong in advocating the interests of agriculture everywhere we go,” Hogan said. “This is a position of service, and to the best of my ability I’ll continue to serve the members of this organization throughout the state. Thank you so much.”

    Ron Gibson, a dairy farmer from West Weber, Weber County was elected to the State Board of Directors, replacing hay farmer Rulon Fowers. Rex Larsen, a cattle rancher and grain farmer from Spanish Fork and and Edwin Sunderland, a turkey farmer from Chester (Sanpete County) were also re-elected to two-year terms on the Utah Farm Bureau Board of Directors.

    Belva Parr of Utah County was re-elected as the chair of the State Farm Bureau Women’s Committee. Parr also sits on the Farm Bureau State Board of Directors in her capacity of State Women’s Committee Chair. Parr owns sheep currently, but has been involved with agriculture all her life.

    Re-elected to the State Farm Bureau Women’s Committee were Dot Jensen of Tremonton for District 1 and JaNae Titmus of Grantsville for District 3. Newly elected members of the State Women’s Committee included Andrea Schoenfeld of Tridell (Uintah County) for District 5; Vicky Bastian of Sigurd (Sevier County) for District 6; and Linda Noyes of Beaver for District 7.

    Meagher McConkie, a cattle rancher from Altamont (Duchesne County), was selected as the new chairman of the Young Farmer and Rancher Committee (YF&R). Four new couples were also elected to serve on the state committee, including Brady and Christy Thornock of Randolph (Rich County); Derek and Jordan Black from Grantsville (Tooele County); Jeff & Jennie Christensen of Cleveland (Emery County), and Matt & Paige Gray from Pine Valley (Washington County).

    Voting delegates also addressed a wide range of policy issues including positions on taxes, environmental regulations, water development, water quality, animal welfare, wildlife, healthcare and more.

    Comments-icon Post a Comment
    No Comments Yet
    Submit an Event