• Cedar City |
  • Mesquite

  • More
  • More
  • Lamb A Robinson Award Finalist
    by kcsg.com news
    Published - 11/19/13 - 03:08 PM | 0 0 comments | 12 12 recommendations | email to a friend | print
    SUU Photo
    SUU Photo
    (CEDAR CITY, Utah) - For the second time in the past four seasons Southern Utah University head football coach Ed Lamb has been named a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award, which is given annually to the NCAA Division I FCS Coach of the Year.

    Lamb has guided the Thunderbirds to an 8-3 record and a No. 20 national ranking after SUU was picked to finish ninth in the Big Sky’s pre-season polls. The 2013 T-Birds, who are 5-2 and tied for third place in the BSC, have equaled the school’s single-season wins mark and put themselves in a position for the University’s first-ever NCAA post-season bid with one game left to play in the regular season.

    Coach Lamb was also a finalist for the award in 2010 when he guided SUU to a Great West Conference championship.

    He is one of two Big Sky coaches among the 20 finalists, as Eastern Washington’s Beau Baldwin – who has guided the Eagles to a 7-0 Big Sky mark and a No. 3 national ranking – is also on the list.

    Along with Lamb and Baldwin the finalists include 2012 Robinson Award winner Craig Bohl of top-ranked North Dakota State and No. 2 Eastern Illinois’ Dino Babers. Also included on the list are Charleston Southern’s Jamey Chadwell, Jack Cosgrove of Maine, Furman’s Bruce Fowler and Jay Hopson of Alcorn State.

    The list also includes Chatanooga’s Russ Huesman, Mercer’s Bobby Lamb, William & Mary’s Jimmye Laycock and Coastal Carolina’s Joe Moglia. Also on the list are Joe Moorhead of Fordham, Jimy Parady of Maris, Buddy Pough of South Carolina State, Rod Reed of Tennessee State, Ron Roberts of Southeastern Louisiana, Bob Surace of Princeton, Matt Viator of McNeese State and Youngstown State’s Eric Wolford.

    Voting to determine the 2013 coach of the year will be conducted among a national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and others familiar with the sport. The winner will be announced Dec. 16 at an awards ceremony in Philadelphia, Pa., when the winners of the three FCS player awards – the Walter Payton (FCS outstanding player), Buck Buchanan (FCS outstanding defensive player) and Jerry Rice (FCS outstanding freshman) – will also be announced.

    Comments-icon Post a Comment
    No Comments Yet
    Submit an Event