• Saint George |
  • Cedar City |
  • Mesquite

  • More
  • More
  • More
  • Southern Utah Code Camp Names Winners
    by kcsg.com news
    Published - 11/17/13 - 08:20 AM | 0 0 comments | 25 25 recommendations | email to a friend | print
    (ST. GEORGE, Utah) - Hundreds of computer programmers and designers went head to head to compete for prizes and bragging rights at the fourth annual Southern Utah Code Camp hosted by Dixie State University November 15th and 16th. Joshua Aikens, chair of the Dixie Technical Association said this was the largest group ever attending Code Camp. “It’s doubled every year since 2010,” Aikens said of the 215 registrants.

    Jeff Poulton, owner of Rocketmade, a St. George web and mobile development firm and chair of Code Camp, said organizers were thrilled about the participation. “Every tech related firm in the area is looking for talent, and this event is one of the best opportunities to grow the pipeline,” he said.

    The event was totally free of charge for participants thanks to southern Utah private industry sponsors. Dixie State University also provided funding, and USTAR, the Utah Science Technology and Research Initiative, provided staff and organizational support.

    Code Campers participated in four divisions: rookie, novice, collegiate and industry. The challenge for each division was to create a web or mobile application in 24 hours. Teams, comprised of 1 to 4 persons, were judged on technical expertise, completeness, aesthetics, novelty and innovation. Commercial viability was also evaluated for collegiate and industry teams.

    Judges came from Southern Utah University (SUU), Dixie State University (DSU), Southwest Applied Technology College (SWATC) and private industry.

    Winners in each category were:

    Rookie: First place, Kyler Tolleson, Logan Cox and Joshua Beitler. Second place, Denver Madsen and Shelby Tingey. Third place, Ethan Excell.

    Novice: First place, Cole Brainin, Kenny Rose and Daxon Holmes. Second place, Avery Hess, Jesse Maxwell, Carly Chase and William Chase. Third place, Austin Peck, Joseph Britt, Elliott Orr and Zack Lamoreaux.

    Collegiate: First place, Chas George and Jessica Bernett. Second place, Half Adders. Third place Preston Wagner.

    Industry: First place, Brian Olsen, Mike Moore, Eric Bulloch and Randal Tateishi. Second Place, Daniel Evans, Brandon Roth, Elias Bagley and Alex Doub. Third place, Steve Whittekiend and Kelly Carlson.

    Most Commercially Viable: Abe Hunt and Kent Barney

    In addition DSU and SUU awarded scholarships to summer computer camps to selected rookie participants. SUU winners were: Gavin Jakes, Ryan Barlow, Joseph Arnell and Josh Beitler. DSU winners were: Pate George, J.P. Moore, Kyle Reese and Zack Ward.

    Comments-icon Post a Comment
    No Comments Yet
    Submit an Event